site image

Testimonials


Your feedback

We are always interested in hearing from the families that we serve.  Please take a moment to let us know how well we served you in your time of need. We very much appreciate your feedback.

Scott Massingill and his team far exceeded our expectations during a very difficult time for our family. The last thing on our minds was to think about the details of the funeral arrangements. His team was quick and was able to guide us through every step of the way to make it as easy as possible. They were extremely knowledgeable, professional, and compassionate throughout the entire process.

Nelly Chung Osborn
November 7, 2019

Scott is truly a blessing. He was efficient, kind and thoughtful. He took care of everything and answered all my questions without hesitation. He definitely went above and beyond and I highly recommend him.

Mia Hyun
November 7, 2019

Very conscientious and caring staff was there for our family 24/7 through a difficult time. They thoughtfully answered all our questions and provided options for us. Very reasonable pricing options also. This is the third time they have been there for our family.

Patricia Chao
November 7, 2019

Al Bloomfield walked us through all the details and made the process easy for us. Larry Shor as a rabbi to conduct funeral service and burial captured my father in an outstanding loving eulogy which was more than we could have expected from someone who didn't know my dad. The entire experience, as sad as it is, was made that much easier and "pleasant" by all the professional and caring staff at Sagel Bloomfield.

Jill Myers
November 7, 2019

Wonderful experience! Your Staff and the whole Team are courteous, accommodating and respectful.

Benilda Bacorro
October 14, 2019

Hey Angela the Ellis family appreciate everything that you and your staff did for us . You were polite and help us with the paperwork had answers that we didn’t know. Angela you really did a good job. You were there from day 1 until the funeral. As you know it was a challenge for me. I wanted to keep the family in going faith. You can never be prepared for this especially when it was unexpected. The Ellis family thank you and the staff very much.

Teresa Smith
July 10, 2019

Teresa Smith
July 11, 2019

Our experience with Sagel Bloomfield was excellent. The funeral care was comprehensive, compassionate, timely. From the request for services to the completion of the entire process, professionalism was apparent and much appreciated. Thank you.

Nancy Lisook
June 14, 2019

Sagel Bloomfield met all of our expectations beyond what we could imagine. They assisted us in explaining the cremation process and prepared our Mother for viewing. Their services were prompt and timely. We appreciated their assistance.

Teddy Norman
May 14, 2019

My husband and I live in California, and my father (who lived in Silver Spring) suddenly passed away last month. I reached out to Sagel Bloomfield late at night and spoke with Ron. He was wonderful and went to the house and picked up my father and made the next 24 hours possible as we were also trying to make arrangements to fly cross country. Ron was thorough and compassionate to explain everything, and sometimes twice as we were running on very little sleep and couldn't remember everything from hour to hour. Ron ensured everything was taken care of in advance. When we showed up a few days later at the funeral we were put at ease as everything took place as expected. We were able to do a private viewing and Ron respected our privacy and gave us the necessary time to say our good-byes. It was a difficult day, but Ron and the rest of the staff at Sagel Bloomfield were wonderful to help us get through the day and guided the process so things flowed smoothly.

BK Winters
May 14, 2019

I was treated with the utmost dignity and respect from beginning to end. Everyone was kind, considerate, and efficient. I walked in flustered and not knowing how to handle the circumstances of my father's death and left confident, knowing that my best interests were foremost in the minds of those at Sagel Bloomfield. Rabbi Shor's service could not have been better. After our brief conversation he was able to capture the essence of who my father was.
My heartfelt thanks to you and your colleagues.

J F
May 14, 2019

Scott M. was of great help during this tough time for my extended family. He was punctual, knowledgable and always available to reach out to when needed. He was extremely empathetic, and it showed that he truly cares about the job he does. Having to plan after losing a loved one is never an easy task; The team at Sagel Bloomfield made it as easy and worry free as possible. In addition to all of this, I was truly impressed with their facilities as well.

Kayne C.
May 14, 2019

Thank you so much for the heartfelt memorial stone that you designed for my husband, Raymond. It portrays the dignity and love he so rightfully deserves. The heartfelt memorial stone is a loving tribute for my dear husband.

Barbara V
May 9, 2019

Great service!Very professional!People is so kind for us!

John
March 31, 2019

Unbelievably great experience in a very trying time for my family. The staff was so kind and caring. The overall price of the funeral we selected was very affordable.

Seth Bernstein
March 31, 2019

Polite, efficient, professional people.

Vadim
March 31, 2019

Excellent experience. Albert Bloomfield was very professional as was his team. Five stars. Thank you Albert.

Glenn Rosenthal
March 31, 2019

Flawless Service. Very friendly and approachable.

Ron Apatoff
March 31, 2019

From the first contact with Tisha Reid to the moment of burial of my stepmother, we felt supported. We felt we were in the hands of professionals who were sensitive to our needs. I am glad that Sagal, Bloomfield Danzansky Goldberg are our family funeral director and would enthusiastically recommned them.

Gerald Robin
March 31, 2019

Our family greatly appreciated the caring, professional attention you provided after the loss of our uncle. We recommend your services highly.

Maria Puglisi
March 31, 2019

Despite this kind of "business" contact being emotionally upsetting and unlikely to be anything approaching pleasant, it was handled professionally, smoothly, and with the utmost compassion. It was made as easy and painless as could be done.

Louis Kozloff
March 31, 2019

I felt completely taken care of. Since I was in unfamiliar territory I let them take the lead asking questions with the utmost respect and answering my questions fully and completely. On the day of the funeral, the entire family was so impressed with their ability to keep things moving without making anyone feel rushed. The feeling of having someone who cared was in charge and making sure all that attended were able to pay their repects as well. Although I hope to not have to call them anytime soon, I would not use anyone else when the need arises again.

Geri Shapiro
March 31, 2019

I cannot say enough about the First Class job Scott at Sagel Bloomfield did for myself and my family with the recent passing of my father. As soon as this happened I reached out to Scott and they took over and helped me prepare all the arrangements while I was overseas in Asia flying emergency back to the states. Scott coordinated every little detail and just needed my input for decisions. I do not know how I would have made it through this awful moment and put together the entire ceremony and post ceremony details without Scott and Sagel Bloomfield. Obviously these are services I wish I never needed, but I cannot express more gratitude and emphasize that Scott and Sagel Bloomfield is the place to contact for this type of circumstances. 5 Stars without question.

Eric Sharabany
March 31, 2019

Compassionate, thorough, and timely advice and assistance. We were challenged to plan and execute our mother's last requests from afar . The funeral care team had every detail figured out for us and we were so pleased with the rabbi and his service. A reception on site was handled and executed with dignity and the staff was helpful but not intrusive.

Diane Kirson-Glitman
March 31, 2019

I just wanted to take a moment to discuss my experience with this amazing place. first of all, when my mother passed late in the evening the call was made to these folks because we were told they were the nicest in the area and it was an immediate sense of relief, they came within an hour and were polite calm and collected they set with me while I rambled on and asked about my moms life and many other thorough questions. they were so gentle with her and they let my Family help move her to the car. We went to the Funeral Home that morning to meet with Tisha she comforted us and did everything that we had asked. We were never told no, and the funeral went exactly according to my Mothers wishes. Among other amazing things offered they had a wonderful coffee bar with snacks and drinks available for us, we were up all night so it was nice to have it. There were even reading glasses available nicely laid out in case you forgot yours. The place was really nice and looked new, all I can say is we were so happy with everything they did for us. You will not go wrong by trying this place should you ever have to.

kaleb kruger
March 31, 2019

The team was very compassionate, accommodating and helpful. They made the process as easy as possible under the circumstances.

David Cohen
March 31, 2019

Carolyn bloom I'm writing specifically to recommend their funeral director, Tisha Reid. Tisha has found her true calling, in serving families during their difficult time, with her empathy, compassion and top notch service. Our family lost three loved ones in a row, and worked with Tisha each time. She felt like a close family friend. She cares about and respects every detail, but also she truly cares about the diseased and those left behind, and is sincerely sorry for your loss. Tisha can be as behind the scenes or as hand holding as you desire, in each stage of this unfortunate but necessary process.

carolyn bloom
March 31, 2019

My dear mother passed away at the age of 65 at a hospital in NY, but her residence was in Rockville, MD. Immediately following her death, I called several funeral homes in NYC and in Rockville before calling Sagel Bloomfield - it was apparently not an easy task to bring a deceased body across state lines. A couple of places I had first called flat out told me they couldn't do it (bring my mom from NY), while another funeral home tried to rip me off - asking for an exorbitant amount of money (tens of thousands of dollars). When I called Sagel and Bloomfield's office, they assured me that it was an easy task for them and had handled similar situations many times. We trusted them to do the job and overall, things could not have gone more smoothly. Mr. Sagel was compassionate, understanding, and led us through the entire process step by step. I highly recommend this funeral home.

Eunice Lee
March 31, 2019

Sagel Bloomfield came through for my family rapidly , with sensitivity and professionalism on all aspects of having to make decisions, last minute concerns and follow up on every detail. They were there for us 24/7 and each member of their team was efficient and knowledgable.

Tracy Kolker Ochsman
March 1, 2019

Very professional, dignified, and efficient assistance with the passing of my father last week inclusive of coordination with synagogue, cemetery, vital statistics, and military honors. Sagel Bloomfield exceeded expectations for our family.

Nelson Michael
March 1, 2019

Tricia went above and beyond our expectations to expedite the information we needed before my brother flew back to Florida. Thank you for making this difficult process smooth.

Wendy Ulzheimer
March 1, 2019

Thank you so very much to the entire Sagel Bloomfield Danzansky Goldberg team by providing our family with the most professional, kind, considerate, compassionate, and patient help and care during our family's ultimate time of need. If I could provide a higher rating, I would.

Rob Mendelson
March 1, 2019

Everything was handled in a short time in a professional and caring manner.

Steven Sher
October 23, 2018

Your service was compassionate and seamless. I felt confident that after placing the call to you, I would not have to follow through checking on your attention to details. Job well done! Thank You, Bruce Dobbs

Bruce Dobbs
October 23, 2018

The service we received from Sagel Bloomfield was outstanding. My mother passed away at her residence in a group home in Bethesda and was interred on Long Island in a family plot. My sister and I made one phone call to them, and everything was taken care of from start to finish, including a rabbi in New York and all transportation and arrangements with the cemetery in Long Island. We could not have been happier with the care and attention we have received--and continue to receive--from Sagel Bloomfield. I would recommend their service to anybody without reservation.

Charla Haber Lerman
September 26, 2018

Sagal et al Funeral Home was who we used for our mother's recent funeral. Aside from not knowing to enter through the back, everything went smoothly. There were no high pressure sales tactics, everything was explained thoroughly, and I especially liked how they helped set up the Everydays app for free so I could electronically notify people of the times for the service, internment, and Shiva. In a tough time, I was glad that funeral care was easily taken care of and that no one was trying to game me for extra money. Recommended!

Brian B
September 24, 2018

We have very different levels of observance in our family, and you were able to make everybody comfortable. Thank you.

Amy Fingerhut
September 6, 2018

The service we received from Sagel Bloomfield was outstanding. My mother passed away at her residence in a group home in Bethesda and was interred on Long Island in a family plot. My sister and I made one phone call to them, and everything was taken care of from start to finish, including a rabbi in New York and all transportation and arrangements with the cemetery in Long Island. We could not have been happier with the care and attention we have received--and continue to receive--from Sagel Bloomfield. I would recommend their service to anybody without reservation.

Charla Haber Lerman
December 13, 2017

Very impressed with the attention we received from Ed. We were in a unique situation, and everything was done very smoothly and professionally. I liked the follow up mass emails I get now.

Amanda Stein
September 6, 2017

Bernie Sanker passed away on Wednesday, August 26th, as you know in the Jewish religion a funeral needs to be planned immediately, I just wanted to let you know how fabulous Tisha was of taking care of all the funeral arrangements, she was professional, courteous and beyond kind, she followed up on everything from the obituary notice to the Death Certificates, she made everything "easy" for me, Danzansky's Funeral Home was outstanding.....thank you, Terri Sanker

The Sanker Family
September 11, 2015

Al Bloomfield walked us through all the details and made the process easy for us. Larry Shor as a rabbi to conduct funeral service and burial captured my father in an outstanding loving eulogy which was more than we could have expected from someone who didn't know my dad. The entire experience, as sad as it is, was made that much easier and "pleasant" by all the professional and caring staff at Sagel Bloomfield.

Jill Myers

Very conscientious and caring staff was there for our family 24/7 through a difficult time. They thoughtfully answered all our questions and provided options for us. Very reasonable pricing options also. This is the third time they have been there for our family.

Patricia Chao

Thank you very much for making all the arrangements for my Uncle. I sincerely appreciate everything that you have done for my family.

......

On behalf of my family I wanted to thank you for making a sad time more bearable. Your compassion comes across in every detail you took care of for us…I truly appreciate everything you and your staff do for a bereaved family.

......

Thank you for your generosity and kindness during this time of loss. The burial arrangements were made with dignity and respect for which we are most grateful.

......

The staff was wonderful & compassionate to our needs, thank you.

......

Thank you so much for all of your gentleness and very capable assistance and expertise that made the day so much easier for all of us.

......

Thank you as well for your kind, sensitive and professional services involved with my mother’s death and burial.

......

With many thanks for your help last week, your care and kindness in driving my mother’s casket to New York, it is much appreciated.

......

I have known Ed Sagel for as long as he has been a funeral director in the Washington D.C. area. I am happy to testify to the fact that Ed runs a very fine and reputable company dedicated to serving the needs of the Jewish community of Greater Washington. There are times over the years when I have approached Ed with a request or personal accommodation on behalf of a family, and have found that he always strives to work with the clergy and the families to meet their needs and to accommodate their requests. Ed is accessible, professional and has a fine reputation, deservedly so. On a personal note, I have appreciated working with him, and all that he has done on behalf of our families at difficult times.

Rabbi Stuart Weinblatt, Congregation B'nai Tzedek

Once again, I am writing to thank you for the amazing kid-glove care and attention I received as I buried my father a few weeks ago. You made a sad and difficult time in my life effortless as you took care of my needs and guided me through the process.

Weiss Family

Dear Ed, At this time of year we look back on those who have made our world a better place to live. Ed, over the years, you and Danzansky-Goldberg Memorial Chapels have contributed so much to us and the Jewish Community. We are Very grateful for all you have done to make what we do at the Hebrew Free Burial Society possible. Whenever we for the benefit of the indigent of our community find ourselves in need of your services, you and your staff at Danzansky-Goldberg are always there for us. What you do is truly a Chesed Shel Emes, and act of loving kindness that can never be repaid. We ask for G_d’s blessings upon you and your family and your staff and their families. Sincerely. Martin L. Kamerow President Philip A. Goldman VP and Director Hebrew Free Burial Society of Greater Washington, Inc. Chesed Shel Emes

Hebrew Free Burial Society of Greater Washington, Inc.

Dear Ed, I would like to thank you, on behalf of Montgomery Hospice, for your support of our Jewish families, as well as for your sponsorship of our many community education programs. My staff knows they can count on you to provide consistent service for our folks in the community. You and I have seen a lot of changes in this community during the last three decades. But the need for good care around end-of-life is a constant, and that is a commitment we have shared through the years. Looking forward to continuing efforts in the coming years, Gary

Rabbi Gary Fink

On behalf of the residents of the Riderwood Jewish Community, we wish to thank you for your very generous contribution of the 2013 – 2014 Hebrew calendars. We look forward to receiving them each year and it is very much appreciated by all. Thanks to Scott for his help. Wishing you good health and happiness in the coming year. L’ Shana T’ova! Riderwood Jewish Community Rosalyn Fleisher, President Mildred Hauser, Financial Secretary

Riderwood Jewish Community

I heard recently of the impending purchase by Ed Sagel of the Danzansky Goldberg Funeral Home and Edward Sagel Funeral Direction in Rockville, Maryland. I was delighted to hear the news. I have worked closely with Ed for nearly 25 years and have been an eyewitness to his many accomplishments as a funeral director, owner, and manager. Ed is a consummate professional and very dedicated to the welfare of the families with whom he works. He is deeply respected by his colleagues, associates, and employees. Ed is also extremely knowledgeable about the nature, make up, and unique characteristics of the Washington area Jewish community which enables him to perform his duties with integrity and sensitivity. I am certain that our Jewish community will benefit deeply from Ed's stewardship of two of the most prominent Jewish institutions in Washington D.C. Respectfully submitted, Rabbi Jonathan Z. Maltzman January 29, 2014

Rabbi Jonathan Maltzman, Kol Shalom

Dear Scott, I wanted to take the time to drop you a note of thanks for your offer of help in supplying an air conditioned facility and food for our elderly residents during this weeks’ power outage. We are fortuanate to have much appreciated community neighbors such as yourself in times like this. Our dedicated and committed staff stayed as long as needed to make sure our residents across our campus were safe and well cared for. On behalf of the entire Charles E. Smith Life Communities, I again thank you for your thoughtfulness and generosity. Sincerely, Warren R. Slavin President/CEO Charles E. Smith Life Communities

Charles E. Smith Life Communities

Dear Mr. Sagel, I wanted to let you know how wonderful Scott, Tisha and the rest of the team behind the scenes and graveside performed their roles in laying Mom, Pearl Ellerin, to rest. I’m sure that Mom’s hopes of an “easy” burial were realized beyond her expectations. Your services were excellent and certainly above my expectations. Feel free to use me as a family member reference for the value of pre-planning a funeral and the hardship it guards against for the deceased’s family. Thank you again for helping my parents, Albeit and Pearl.

Michael Ellerin

Through our years of working together, you’ve always been available to me and my staff with open lines of communication at all times, day or night. You have always accorded the bereaved with integrity and honesty from the first phone call through the funeral process. It is and has been a pleasure to work with you where we can count and depend on the needs and desires of our congregants to be met with excellence.

Rabbi M. Bruce Lustig, Washington Hebrew Congregation

Your excellent service was greatly appreciated.

......

I don’t know when they stopped referring to Memorial Chapels as Funeral Homes, but, for me and my entire extended family and friends………………………. Danzansky-Goldberg put the “Home” in Funeral Home!! From my first phone call to announce that my beloved mother had passed on, they were caring and quietly dignified as we began the process of marking and defining her death. As with many jewish mothers, I often present a control conundrum (difficult problem) for those trying to help me. However, there was gentle guidance, no body language that spoke negatively, no rushing, and no long explanations and tedious details to further burdon an already difficult time in my life. And yet, when I walked out of the conference room I felt confident that my mother’s funeral would be a product of a well-seasoned, seamless organization. That projection became reality. As would be expected,Ii had questions and either lee or brad was always available on company or personal cell phone to answer immediately. To my knowledge, I don’t think I ever had to leave a message, nor did anyone have to call back. Besides being a proverbial Jewish mother, I am quite impatient even when not faced with a parent’s death!! I never found myself worrying or wondering about the funeral process. That was taken out of my hands and I could totally concentrate on the enormity of my loss. The limousine service arrived at my home ahead of the 8:30 a.m. Time, and that is quite impressive given the challenge of a tuesday morning rush hour in the DC area. Although I would have rather seen it pull up for a prom, this was a welcomed sight as I began the day. He fought the traffic as we traveled from Virginia to Maryland, and arrived punctually. My mother was a Washington DC native as well as I, and I grew up attending many funerals in that chapel. The meet and greet room is perfect. It’s beautifully and tastefully decorated. It’s comfortable. The temperature and lighting are perfect as the crowds begin to fill the room. There is no distraction or noise to detract from the person we are memorializing. From the corner of my eye I saw staff tending to things, but never intrusive and barely noticeable. I felt as though I was in a room in my own home. As we were courteously escorted to the chapel I took my seat in the always comfortable pews. Again, that room feels like home to me. I have a long history there. After all, death is an inevitable part of living a life. The quiet understated lighting, the two circular art plaques on either side of the lord’s prayer, the beautiful wood….can’t imagine any other place to host my mother’s coffin during her funeral service.

Dale C.

Ed and Scott, You all have done so much for my family the past year and a half – I cannot thank you enough. I hope all future contact with SagelBloomfield is for referrals. Your entire operation is top notch; white kid glove; five star. Layne Weiss

Layne Weiss

We want to express our thanks and appreciation to you for your professional and compassionate support to us following the death of our beloved daughter, Rachel Roberts. You guided us through the necessary steps and left us feeling confident that we were in good hands. Thank you also for helping us engage Rabbi Maltzman for the services at the Chapel and gravesite. We and many others truly appreciated his words and readies. He was so thoughtful as to call us on Monday to ask how we were doing then. We told him that we were so taken with his choice of readings and thoughts that we plan to visit him at his synagogue when we return from France in mid-May. Further, we also thank you for the smooth operation of the funeral itself. We were able to focus on the service itself and the many people who came to the Chapel without having to be concerned with the operation itself. We are most appreciative of your help and that of the staff of Sagel Bloomfield Funeral Care. Michael and Linda Roberts

Michael and Linda Roberts

Together with my children and their families, I am writing to express my appreciation for the outstanding funeral arrangements provided by the Danzansky-Goldberg team for our wife and mother, Judith Weiner. We were treated with the utmost patience, understanding, and sympathy for our loss. We also benefited from a process that was well-organized and staff members who were well-prepared, allowing us to receive immediate answers to our questions and guidance when we needed it. The funeral and interment were executed flawlessly, so all the mourners could concentrate on our dear loved one and celebrate her life. Your staff members are consummate professionals, and I would recommend them without reservation. I want to mention especially Scott Massing, Brad Smetzer, and David Madock, with whom we worked closely. Thank you again.

John Weiner

In this section

About Us

Our Staff

Chapels

Why Choose Us

Testimonials

News

Contact Us

Privacy Policy

© 2019 Sagel Bloomfield Danzansky Goldberg Funeral Care Inc. All Rights Reserved. Funeral Home website by CFS